The Official Website Of Chiefs Focus

7 Chiefs Earn 2023 Pro Bowl Honors

7 Chiefs Earn 2023 Pro Bowl Honors

Chiefs' Patrick Mahomes And Travis Kelce Looking To Be Faces Of AFC

The NFL has announced the players who are invited to the 2023 Pro Bowl on February 5th in Allegiant Stadium. 7 Kansas City Chiefs were given the honors, the second most for any NFL team. Let’s take a look at what Chiefs will be representing the AFC in this one.

As expected, quarterback Patrick Mahomes earned the honors. Being a favorite for MVP and playing at the level Mahomes does, Pro Bowls are nearly guarenteed. Nontheless, this is an awesome accomplishment for Patrick. At the age of 27, Mahomes already has a Hall of Fame resume.

With 4,496 yards and 35 touchdowns, he leads the league in both major passing stat categories.

Another nearly guaranteed Pro Bowler this year is tight end Travis Kelce. He has been nothing short of phenomenal this season. He also continues to add to his Hall of Fame portfolio. Not to mention, another tally in the G.O.A.T. conversation.

This season, Kelce currently is 6th in the league in receiving yards with 1,144. He also leads the league in receiving touchdowns with 12. He has been amazing this year and this is much deserved.

Chiefs offseason 2022: steps to continuing the offensive line build - Arrowhead Pride
Getty Images

The team had 3 offensive linemen make the Pro Bowl. Joe Thuney, Creed Humphrey, and Orlando Brown Jr all earned the honors. These 3 have led the offensive line to be extremely impressive. The trio has led a unit which has kept Mahomes as the 8th least sacked quarterback among starters. Much deserved by all of these men.

Defensive tackle Chris Jones was named to his 4th career Pro Bowl. He continues to be one of the most dominant players in the league. He has spent most of the season in the top 3 of the NFL’s sack leaders. However, he has fallen back to 7th. Nontheless, he continues to lead the Chiefs defense and has been great.

Tommy Townsend named AFC Special Teams Player of the Month

The final Chief to make the Pro Bowl was punter Tommy Townsend. He has been one of the best punters in the league. Townsend currently is second in the league in average punt yard and first in net average yards. He is very deserving of the honors.

Of Kansas City’s 7 Pro Bowlers, 5 players were named starters for the AFC team. Those starters are Patrick Mahomes, Travis Kelce, Creed Humphrey, Chris Jones and Tommy Townsend.

These players were all very deserving of the honors. They have been fantastic all season and have led Kansas City to be one of the league’s best teams.

There are arguments to be made for many other Chiefs who were deserving of the honors. I do believe linebacker Nick Bolton was the biggest snub among Kansas City’s roster. He currently is 3rd in the league in solo tackles and 5th in total tackles. He has been a driving force for Kansas City’s defense and played great football. However, not everyone can make the list.

While it is awesome to see Kansas City to be so well represented in the Pro Bowl, Chief fans hope none of their players actually get to participate as the team plans to be a strong contender for the Super Bowl.

Congratulations to these players and GO Chiefs!


Share this:


%d bloggers like this: